How to Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY)?

byDilip PrasadLast Updated: January 5, 2024
How To Apply Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana?

The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY), launched by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA), is an important step towards ensuring that people from all sections of society have access to affordable housing. The scheme aims to cater to the housing needs of underprivileged sections, such as economically weaker sections (EWS) and low-income groups (LIG), who often face financial difficulties in acquiring housing. The PMAY’s ultimate objective is to ensure that “Housing for All” becomes a reality by 2023.

This article will guide you through the process of applying for a housing assistance program that offers subsidies on home loan interest rates. The program is designed to help eligible individuals or families purchase or construct a home with a reduced financial burden.

Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Online

Following are the steps to apply for PMAY Online:

  1. Visit the official PMAY portal at to begin the application process.
  2. Once you’re on the website, scroll down to the ‘Citizen Assessment’ section.
  3. From the drop-down menu, select ‘Benefit under 3 components’ to proceed with your application.
  4. Enter your Aadhaar details as it is mandatory for the application process.
  5. Fill in your personal details like name, contact number, bank account number, and income details, among others.
  6. Save the application form and enter the captcha code before submitting it.
  7. It is recommended that you take a printout of the submitted application form for future reference.

By following these simple steps, you can apply for a home under the PMAY scheme and join the millions of families across India who have benefited from this affordable housing initiative.

Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Offline

Here are the steps to follow if you wish to apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana through offline mode. These steps involve downloading the application form, filling it out with the necessary details, and submitting it at the nearest Common Service Center or State Nodal Agency.

  • Locate the nearest CSC office managed by the State Government.
  • Obtain an application form from the office.
  • Fill out the form with personal information including name, age, address, income, etc.
  • Pay the application fee of Rs.25 (excluding GST).
  • Submit the completed application form to an authorized official at the CSC office

Also Read: Check Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Application Status

Documents Required for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

Following are some of the commonly required documents for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

Also Read: Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana in Hindi


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana is an initiative by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs to provide affordable housing to all sections of society. The scheme aims to address the housing needs of the underprivileged, including economically weaker sections and low-income groups. To apply for the scheme, applicants can visit the official PMAY portal or follow the offline process. By following the simple steps, eligible applicants can receive a subsidy on their home loan interest rates, making it easier for them to build or purchase a house and achieve their dream of owning a home.


What is the eligibility criteria to avail benefits of PMAY?

Individuals falling under the economic slabs of Middle-Income Groups (MIGs), Low-income Groups (LIGs), and Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) are eligible to avail benefits of PMAY. This classification helps in making the process more convenient for the beneficiaries.

Is there a fee for applying for PMAY?

The online application process is free of charge. However, if you apply through a Common Service Center (CSC), you will be required to pay a fee of Rs.25.

Can a person apply for PMAY more than once?

No, PMAY does not permit individuals to apply for housing more than once. Providing your Aadhaar number during the application process makes it easy for the government to detect and penalize any fraudulent activities.

How is PMAY classified based on the demographic area?

The PMAY scheme is classified into two types based on the demographic area:
  1. PMAY-U (Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna- Urban)
  2. PMAY-G (Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna- Gramin)

What is PMAY?

PMAY is a government initiative launched by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) aimed at providing affordable housing to all sections of society by 2023, particularly the economically weaker sections, through subsidies and benefits.

You May Also Like