List of Bank holidays 2021 – Statewise In India

List of Bank Holidays 2021

Both public and private sector banks in India are usually shut on public holidays. However, there are certain bank holidays that are state-specific. Apart from national holidays, festivals like Christmas, Diwali, Guru Nanak Jayanti, Eid, Good Friday, etc. are also bank holidays. Moreover, the second and fourth Saturday of every month is also considered a bank holiday. Let’s take a look at the month-wise list of bank holidays 2021.

Bank Holidays 2021

The below table shows the month-wise list of bank holidays 2021.

HolidayDateDayStates
New Year’s Day 1st January 2021 Friday All States in India
Missionary Day 11th January 2021 Monday Mizoram
Makar Sankranti 14th January 2021 Thursday Karnataka, Gujrat, Sikkim, Telangana
Pongal 14th January 2021 Thursday Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, Puducherry
Kanuma Panduga/ Thiruvalluvar Day 15th January 2021 Friday Andhra Pradesh, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Jayanti 23rd January 2021 Saturday West Bengal, Odisha, Tripura
State Day 25th January 2021 Monday Himachal Pradesh
Republic Day 26th January 2021 Tuesday All States ( National holiday)
Sonam Losar 12th February 2021 Friday Sikkim
Lui-Ngai-Ni 15th February 2021 Monday Manipur
Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti 19th February 2021 Friday Maharashtra
State Day 20th February 2021 Saturday Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh
Losar 25th February 2021 Thursday Sikkim
Panchayatiraj Divas/ Chapchar Kut 5th March 2021 Friday Odisha/ Mizoram
Hazrat Ali’s Birthday 9th March 2021 Tuesday Uttar Pradesh
Maha Shivaratri 11th March 2021 Thursday All states except: Assam, Bihar, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Lakshadweep, Nagaland, Mizoram, Manipur, Meghalaya, West Bengal, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Dadar and Nagar Haveli
Bihar Diwas 22nd March 2021 Monday Bihar
S.Bhagat Singh’s Martyrdom Day 23rd March 2021 Tuesday Haryana, Punjab
Holi 29th March 2021 Monday All States except: Kerala, Karnataka, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu and Lakshadweep.
Odisha Day 1st April 2021 Thursday Odisha
Good Friday 2nd April 2021 Friday All states except: Haryana and Jammu & Kashmir
Telugu New Year 13th April 2021 Tuesday Telangana
Bohag Bihu Holiday 13th April 2021 Tuesday Assam
Gudi Padwa 13th April 2021 Tuesday Maharashtra
Vaisakh 13th April 2021 Tuesday Punjab, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir
Sajibu Nongma Panba 13th April 2021 Tuesday Manipur
Ugadi 13th April 2021 Tuesday Goa, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Rajasthan and Telangana
Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti 14th April 2021 Wednesday Several States
Maha Vishuba Sankranti 14th April 2021 Wednesday Odisha
Bohag Bihu 14th April 2021 Wednesday Assam and Arunachal Pradesh
Cheiraoba 14th April 2021 Wednesday Manipur
Himachal Day 15th April 2021 Thursday Himachal Pradesh
Sarhul Festival 15th April 2021 Thursday Jharkhand
Ram Navami 21st April 2021 Wednesday Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujrat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Odisha, Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand, Rajasthan and Telangana
Garia Puja 21st April 2021 Wednesday Tripura
Mahavir Jayanti 25th April 2021 Sunday Chandigarh, Gujrat, Haryana Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Punjab, West Bengal, Lakshadweep and Tamil Nadu
Maharashtra Day 1st May 2021 Saturday Maharashtra
May Day 1st May 2021 Saturday Goa, Assam, Bihar, Kerala, Karnataka, Puducherry, Manipur, Telangana, Tripura, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal
Jumat-ul-Wida 7th May 2021 Friday Jammu and Kashmir
Guru Rabrindranath Jayanti 9th May 2021 Sunday Tripura and West Bengal
Shab-i-Qadr 10th May 2021 Monday Jammu and Kashmir
Idul Fitr 14th May 2021 Friday Puducherry and West Bengal
Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti 14th May 2021 Friday Himachal Pradesh, Gujrat, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan
Basava Jayanti 14th May 2021 Friday Karnataka
Idul Fitr Holiday 14th May 2021 Friday Telangana
State Day 16th May 2021 Sunday Sikkim
Kazi Nazrul Islam Jayanti 25th May 2021 Tuesday Tripura
Buddha Purnima 26th May Wednesday Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar, Delhi, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tripura, Mizoram, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal
Maharana Pratap Jayanti 13th June 2021 Sunday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Rajasthan
Pahili Raja 14th June 2021 Monday Odisha
Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji’s Martyrdom Day 14th June 2021 Monday Punjab
Raja Sankranti 15th June 2021 Tuesday Odisha
YMA Day 15th June 2021 Tuesday Mizoram
Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti 24th June 2021 Thursday Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Punjab
Remna Ni 30th June 2021 Wednesday Mizoram
MHIP Day 6th July 2021 Tuesday Mizoram
Ratha Yathra 12th July 2021 Monday Odisha
Martyrs Day 13th July 2021 Tuesday Jammu and Kashmir
Kharchi Puja 17th July 2021 Saturday Tripura
U Tirot Sing Day 17th July 2021 Saturday Meghalaya
Bakrid/ Eid al Adha 20th July 2021 Tuesday All states except: Daman and Diu, Sikkim, Puducherry and Arunachal Pradesh
Bakrid/ Eid al Adha 21st July 2021 Wednesday Across the country
Ker Puja 31st July 2021 Saturday Tripura
Shaheed Udham Singh’s Martyrdom Day 31st July 2021 Saturday Haryana
Bonalu 4th August 2021 Wednesday Telangana
Tendong Lho Rum Faat 8th August 2021 Sunday Sikkim
Haryali Teej 11th August Wednesday Haryana
Patriots Day 13th August Friday Manipur
Independence Day 15th August 2021 Sunday All States ( National Holidays)
De Jure Transfer Day 16th August 2021 Monday Puducherry
Parsi New Year 17th August 2021 Tuesday Maharashtra and Gujarat
Muharram 19th August 2021 Thursday All States except: Daman and Diu, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Goa, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Manipur, Nagaland, Punjab, Puducherry, Uttrakhand, Sikkim and West Bengal
Thiruvonam 21st August 2021 Saturday Kerala
Raksha Bandhan 22nd August 2021 Sunday Gujrat, Daman and Diu, Chandigarh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand
Indra Jatra 22nd August 2021 Sunday Sikkim
Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti 23rd August 2021 Monday Kerala
Janmashtami 30th August 2021 Monday All states except: Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Manipur, Mizoram and West Bengal
Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji 8th September 2021 Wednesday Punjab
Hartalika Teej 9th September 2021 Thursday Sikkim and Chandigarh
Ganesh Chaturthi 10th September 2021 Friday Daman and Diu, Andhra Pradesh, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Maharashtra, Gujrat, Goa, Odisha, Telangana, Puducherry and Tamil Nadu
Samvatsari Festival 10th September 2021 Friday Gujarat
Nuakhai 11th September 2021 Saturday Odisha
Ganesh Chaturthi Holiday 11th September 2021 Saturday Goa
Ramdev Jayanti 16th September 2021 Thursday Rajasthan
Teja Dashmi 16th September 2021 Thursday Rajasthan
Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi 21st September 2021 Tuesday Kerala
Heroes’ Martyrdom Day 23rd September 2021 Thursday Haryana
S. Bhagat Singh Ji Jayanti 28th September 2021 Tuesday Punjab
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti 2nd October 2021 Saturday All States ( National Holiday)
Mahalaya Amavasya 6th October 2021 Wednesday Many states across India
First Day of Bathukamma 6th October 2021 Wednesday Telangana
Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti 7th October 2021 Thursday Haryana
Ghatasthapana 7th October 2021 Thursday Rajasthan
Maha Saptami 12th October 2021 Tuesday Tripura, Odisha, Sikkim and West Bengal
Maha Ashtami 13th October 2021 Wednesday Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Sikkim, Rajasthan, Tripura, Telangana and West Bengal
Maha Navami 14th October 2021 Thursday Bihar, Assam, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Meghalaya, Odisha, Nagaland, Sikkim, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Tripura and West Bengal
Vijaya Dashami 15th October 2021 Friday All states except: Manipur and Puducherry
Kati Bihu 18th October 2021 Monday Assam
Eid e Milad 19th October 2021 Tuesday All states except: Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Assam, Goa, Chandigarh, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Punjab, West Bengal and Manipur
Lakshmi Puja 20th October 2021 Wednesday Tripura, Odisha and West Bengal
Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti 20th October 2021 Wednesday Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka, Punjab
Lhabab Duchen 27th October 2021 Wednesday Sikkim
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Jayanti 31st October 2021 Sunday Gujarat
Diwali 4th November 2021 Thursday All States
Bhai Dooj 6th November 2021 Saturday Rajasthan, Gujarat, Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand
Chhath Puja 10th November 2021 Wednesday Chandigarh, Bihar and Jharkhand
Karthika Purnima 19th November 2021 Friday Telangana and Odisha
Guru Nanak Jayanti 19th November 2021 Friday All States except: Bihar, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Daman and Diu, Kerala, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Manipur, Odisha, Mizoram, Sikkim, Puducherry, Tripura and Tamil Nadu
Seng kut Snem 23rd November 2021 Tuesday Meghalaya
Christmas Day 25th December 2021 Saturday All states

Disclaimer: The 2nd and 4th Saturday of every month is considered a bank holiday for both public and private sector banks in India.

*We recommend checking regularly the bank holidays 2021 for new updates and also verify it with the list of holidays issued by the Reserve Bank of India.

Types of Bank Holidays 2021

There are two types of bank holidays: Government Holidays and National Holidays. The national holidays include Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. The national holidays are also known as gazetted holidays and all the banks and financial institutions remain shut on these days.

On the other hand, the government holidays are classified as central government bank holidays or state government bank holidays. Although Central Government Bank Holidays are common across the country, the State Government Bank holidays differ from state to state. For example- Haryana Day is a bank holiday in Haryana, Goa liberation Day is a bank holiday in Goa.

Second and Fourth Saturday Bank Holidays 2021 in India

In addition to the above-mentioned holidays, banks also remain shut on the second and fourth Saturday of every month. Earlier on all Saturdays, the banks used to operate half-day. Let’s take a look at the list of Saturday Bank Holidays 2021.

Date 

Holiday 

State

9th January 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

23rd January 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

13th February 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

27th February 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

13th March 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

27th March 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

10th April 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

24th April 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

8th May 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

22nd May 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

12th June 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

26th June 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday 

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

10th July 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

24th July 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

14th August 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

28th August 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

11th September 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

25th September 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

9th October 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

23rd October 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

13th November 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

27th November 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

11th December 2021

2nd Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

25th December 2021

4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Applicable to all public and private sector banks across India 

NEFT and RTGS Bank Holidays 2021

NEFT stands for National Electronic Fund Transfer and RTGS stands for Real-Time Gross Settlement. Both the processes are used to transfer funds from one bank account to another. Both the process of fund transfer is maintained by the Reserve Bank of India.

Date 

Day 

Holiday 

26th January 2021

Tuesday 

Republic Day 

2nd April 2021

Friday 

Good Friday 

15th August 2021

Sunday 

Independence Day 

2nd October 2021

Saturday 

Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti

25th December 2021

Saturday 

Christmas 

Disclaimer: The services of NEFT and RTGS can be used on other types of bank holidays. If a person transfers money to any bank account on a bank holiday, then the money gets credited to the receiver’s account; however, he/she may get the receipt on the following working day of the Bank.

Knowing bank holidays in advance can help an individual to plan different types of bank-related work and bank visits. One can check the above-mentioned Bank Holidays list to plan accordingly. 

FAQs
Is New Year’s Day considered a bank holiday for all banks across India?
Yes, New Year’s Day is considered a bank holiday for all banks across India.
On which days the banks in India are closed?
Banks in India are closed on the second and fourth Saturday of every month, all National Holidays and regional state holidays.
Do all state holidays apply to all the banks?
No, all state holidays are not considered bank holidays.
0 Shares:
You May Also Like
Read More

List of Share Market Holidays 2021

A share market is a place where all investors can buy or sell financial security or trade in…
Read More

List of BSE Holidays 2021

Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) is one of the leading and oldest stock exchanges operating in India, Listing more…
Read More

List of NSE Holidays 2021

The National Stock Exchange (NSE) is known as India’s largest stock exchange. It is known as the first…